Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Saint Catharine, Kentucky
Saint Catharine, Kentucky

Saint Catharine is a Washington county community just northwest of Springfield centered around the Saint Catharine Academy and the Motherhouse of the Dominican Sisters founded in 1822. Originally known as Saint Magdalen, it was renamed Saint Catharine in 1851. The post office opened in 1900 as Saint Catherines and the spelling was corrected a few years later.

Photo of Saint Catharine College
Saint Catharine College

Saint Catharine is the home of Saint Catharine College, established in 1931, but originating with the Academy that was established in 1839. The College closed at the end of July, 2016.


Saint Rose Priory, Kentucky Cisselville, Kentucky Loretto, Kentucky Geographic Center of Kentucky Lebanon, Kentucky Perryville, Kentucky Mackville, Kentucky Lincoln Homestead State Park Lincoln Homestead State Park Valley Hill, Kentucky Springfield, Kentucky Saint Catharine, Kentucky Fredericktown, Kentucky

© 2018 David C. Elbon