Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Saint Francis, Kentucky
Saint Francis, Kentucky

Saint Francis is northwestern Marion county town at the intersection of KY 52 and KY 527 about one mile west of Loretto. It was settled in the early nineteenth century and a post office opened in 1834 as Chicago, named for the city in Illinois. The town was incorporated with that name in 1870. In 1938 the post office and town were renamed Saint Francis, after the local St. Francis of Assisi Church.

Loretto Saint Francis Nerinx Burkes Spring Holy Cross New Haven Lebanon Saint Catharine Holy Cross

© 2014 David C. Elbon