Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Sprout, Kentucky
Sprout, Kentucky

Sprout is a Nicholas county community on KY 57 about nine miles east of Carlisle. It is apparently a misspelling of the name of a local family – Shrout. The community has long been known as Buzzard Roost. The post office opened in 1852 as Buzzard Roost, with postmaster Andrew Shrout, and closed in 1861. The Sprout post office opened in 1882 and closed in 1907.

Weston, Kentucky Ewing, Kentucky Carlisle, Kentucky Sharpsburg, Kentucky Sharpsburg, Kentucky Flemingsburg, Kentucky Moorefield, Kentucky Sprout, Kentucky Carlisle, Kentucky

© 2018 David C. Elbon