Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Hancock County, Kentucky

Hancock county is in the Western Coal Field region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 358 to 840 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1829 from Breckinridge, Daviess, and Ohio counties. The county seat is Hawesville.

In 2020 the county population was 9,095 in a land area of 187.65 square miles, an average of 48.5 people per square mile.

The equine population was 600 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Hancock county is in the Owensboro metro statistical area and the Green River Area Development District.

Hancock county was named for John Hancock, president of the Second Continental Congress, which adopted the Declaration of Independence in 1776.

Census Census Data Hancock County Seat Hancock County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Daviess County, Kentucky Ohio County, Kentucky Breckinridge County, Kentucky State of Indiana Lewisport, Kentucky Hawesville, Kentucky

© 2024 David C. Elbon