Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Hickman County, Kentucky

Hickman county is in the Jackson Purchase region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 276 to 510 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1822 from Caldwell and Livingston counties. Hickman county was a source of Ballard (1842) and Fulton (1845) counties. The county seat is Clinton.

In 2020 the county population was 4,521 in a land area of 242.27 square miles, an average of 18.7 people per square mile.

It is the least densely populated county in the state.

The equine population was not available in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Hickman county is in the Purchase Area Development District.

Hickman county was named to honor Captain Paschal Hickman, who was killed in the War of 1812 at the River Raisin.

Census Census Data Hickman County Details Kentucky Counties Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Adair County Allen County Anderson County Ballard County Barren County Bath County Bell County Boone County Bourbon County Boyd County Boyle County Bracken County Breathitt County Breckinridge County Bullitt County Butler County Caldwell County Calloway County Campbell County Carlisle County Carroll County Carter County Casey County Christian County Clark County Clay County Clinton County Crittendon County Cumberland County Edmonson County Elliott County Estill County Fayette County Fleming County Floyd County Franklin County Gallatin County Fulton County Garrard County Grant County Graves County Grayson County Green County Greenup County Hancock County Hardin County Harlan County Harrison County Hart County Henderson County Henry County Hopkins County Jackson County Jefferson County Jessamine County Johnson County Kenton County Knott County Knox County LaRue County Laurel County Lawrence County Lee County Leslie County Letcher County Lewis County Lincoln County Livingston County Logan County Lyon County McCracken County McCreary County McLean County Madison County Magoffin County Marion County Marshall County Mason County Martin County Meade County Menifee County Mercer County Metcalfe County Monroe County Montgomery County Morgan County Muhlenberg County Nelson County Nicholas County Ohio County Oldham County Owen County Owsley County Pendleton County Perry County Pike County Powell County Pulaski County Robertson County Rockcastle County Rowan County Russell County Scott County Shelby County Simpson County Spencer County Taylor County Todd County Trigg County Trimble County Union County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Webster County Whitley County Wolfe County Woodford County Daviess County Hickman County State of West Virginia State of Ohio Commonwealth of Virginia State of Tennessee State of Missouri State of Illinois State of Indiana

© 2024 David C. Elbon