Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Monroe County, Kentucky

Monroe county is in the Pennyrile region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 495 to 1141 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1820 from Barren and Cumberland counties. The county seat is Tompkinsville. Monroe county was a source of Metcalfe (1860) county.

In 2020 the county population was 11,338 in a land area of 329.37 square miles, an average of 34.4 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,300 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Monroe county is in the Barren River Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Monroe county was named for James Monroe, who was President of the United States when it was formed.

Census Census Data Monroe County Seat Monroe County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Bugtussle, Kentucky Akersville, Kentucky Tompkinsville, Kentucky Tompkinsville, Kentucky Fountain Run, Kentucky Gamaliel, Kentucky Old Mulkey Meetinghouse State Historic Site Barren County, Kentucky Allen County, Kentucky State of Tennessee Metcalfe County, Kentucky Cumberland County, Kentucky

© 2023 David C. Elbon