Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Georgetown, Kentucky
Map of Georgetown, Kentucky Area

Georgetown, the seat of Scott county, is located near the center of the county at Royal Spring and North Elkhorn Creek. Although the area had a few settlers as early as 1775, the permanent settlement that became Georgetown began in 1782 as Lebanon, Virginia. In 1790 it was named George Town to honor George Washington and was made the Scott county seat when the county was formed in 1792. The Georgetown post office was open by 1801. The population in 2010 was 29,098.

Photo of Georgetown College

Georgetown is the home of Georgetown College, founded in 1829.

Photo of Scott County Courthouse

The Scott County Courthouse in Georgetown, the county's fourth, was completed in 1877 and renovated in 1996.

A major employer in Scott county is Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Kentucky (TMMK).

Ward Hall

Just west of Georgetown on the Frankfort Pike (US 460) is Ward Hall, a Greek Revival mansion completed about 1857 for Junius Richard Ward. The design has been attributed to Thomas Lewinski, a Lexington architect. The Ward Hall Preservation Foundation owns the building and grounds and is working toward its restoration.


Cardome Center Georgetown College Ward Hall Great Crossing, Kentucky Johnsons Mill, Kentucky New Zion, Kentucky Lemons Mill, Kentucky To Skinnersburg, Kentucky To Double Culvert, Kentucky To Sadieville, Kentucky To Oxford, Kentucky To Oxford, Kentucky To Oxford, Kentucky To Newtown, Kentucky To Lexington, Kentucky To Lexington, Kentucky To Donerail, Kentucky To Paynes Depot, Kentucky To Midway, Kentucky To White Sulphur, Kentucky To White Sulphur, Kentucky To Stamping Ground, Kentucky Georgetown, Kentucky

© 2024 David C. Elbon