Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Saint Matthews, Kentucky
Saint Matthews, Kentucky

Saint Matthews is an eastern Jefferson county town and suburb of Louisville. The area, along Beargrass Creek, was settled beginning in 1779. It was known as Sale's Precinct and later Gilman's Point, both for local tavern owners.

Saint Matthews was incorporated in 1950.

A post office opened in 1849 as Lynnford, probably named for the nearby Linn Station. The Saint Matthews post office opened in 1851, named for the local Episcopal church. The post office closed in 1931.

The population in 2020 was 17,551.


Saint Matthews, Kentucky Hurstbourne, Kentucky Lyndon, Kentucky Woodland Hills, Kentucky Middletown, Kentucky E.P. 'Tom' Sawyer State Park Anchorage, Kentucky Glenview, Kentucky To Louisville, Kentucky To Louisville, Kentucky To Lincolnshire, Kentucky To Shively, Kentucky To Jeffersontown, Kentucky To Tucker Station, Kentucky To Hillview, Kentucky To Simpsonville, Kentucky To Pewee, Kentucky To Pewee, Kentucky To Crestwood, Kentucky To Prospect, Kentucky

© 2023 David C. Elbon