Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Williamsburg, Kentucky
Williamsburg, Kentucky

Williamsburg, the seat of Whitley county, is located in the center of the county on the Cumberland river. The town of Whitley Court House was formed with the new county in 1818 and named, like the county, for William Whitley. The name of the town was changed to Williamsburgh in 1882 and the spelling was changed to Williamsburg in 1890.

Whitley Court House was incorporated in 1851.

The Whitley Court House post office opened in 1819, was renamed Williamsburgh in 1882, and Williamsburg in 1890.

The population in 2020 was 5,300.

Williamsburg is the home of the University of the Cumberlands, founded in 1889.


Williamsburg, Kentucky To Rockholds, Kentucky To Pineville, Kentucky To Emlyn, Kentucky To Pine Knot, Kentucky To Whitley City, Kentucky

© 2023 David C. Elbon