Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Clay County, Kentucky

Clay county is in the Eastern Coal Field region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 690 to 2235 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1807 from Floyd, Knox, and Madison counties. The county seat is Manchester. Clay county was a source of Perry (1821), Laurel (1826), Breathitt (1839), Owsley (1843), Jackson (1858), and Leslie (1878) counties.

In 2010 the county population was 21,730 in a land area of 469.25 square miles, an average of 46.3 people per square mile.

The equine population was 600 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Clay county is in the Cumberland Valley Area Development District.

Clay county was named for General Green Clay.

Much of Clay county lies within the Daniel Boone National Forest.

Census Census Data Clay County Seat Clay County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Burchell-Beech Creek Wildlife Management Area Hima, Kentucky Manchester, Kentucky Perry County, Kentucky Laurel County, Kentucky Knox County, Kentucky Bell County, Kentucky Leslie County, Kentucky Jackson County, Kentucky Owsley County, Kentucky

© 2018 David C. Elbon