Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Cumberland County, Kentucky

Cumberland county is in the Pennyrile region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 510 to 1110 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1799 from Green county. The county seat is Burkesville. Cumberland county was a source of Wayne (1801), Monroe (1820), Russell (1826), Clinton (1836), and Metcalfe (1860) counties.

In 2020 the county population was 5,888 in a land area of 305.18 square miles, an average of 19.3 people per square mile.

The equine population was 700 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Cumberland county is in the Lake Cumberland Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Cumberland county was named for the river, which was named for Prince William, Duke of Cumberland.

Census Census Data Cumberland County Seat Cumberland County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Zeketown, Kentucky Marrowbone, Kentucky State of Tennessee Metcalfe County, Kentucky Monroe County, Kentucky Russell County, Kentucky Clinton County, Kentucky Adair County, Kentucky Dale Hollow Lake State Resort Park Burkesville, Kentucky

© 2023 David C. Elbon