Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Johnson County, Kentucky

Johnson county is in the Eastern Coal Field region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 550 to 1508 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1843 from Floyd, Lawrence, and Morgan counties. The county seat is Paintsville. Johnson county was a source of Magoffin (1860) and Martin (1870) counties.

In 2020 the county population was 22,680 in a land area of 261.95 square miles, an average of 86.6 people per square mile.

The equine population was 700 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Johnson county is in the Big Sandy Area Development District.

Johnson county was named for Richard Mentor Johnson, legislator and Vice President of the United States.

The Dawkins Line Rail Trail runs through the county.

Census Census Data Johnson County Seat Johnson County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Thealka, Kentucky Swamp Branch, Kentucky Dawkins Line Rail Trail Dawkins Line Rail Trail Thelma, Kentucky Odds, Kentucky Staffordsville, Kentucky Hager Hill, Kentucky Paintsville, Kentucky Paintsville Lake State Park Paintsville, Kentucky Flatgap Van Lear Floyd County, Kentucky Magoffin County, Kentucky Martin County, Kentucky Morgan County, Kentucky Lawrence County, Kentucky

© 2022 David C. Elbon