Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Leslie County, Kentucky

Leslie county is in the Eastern Coal Field region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 757 to 2600 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1878 from Clay, Harlan, and Perry counties. The county seat is Hyden.

In 2020 the county population was 10,513 in a land area of 400.84 square miles, an average of 26.2 people per square mile.

The equine population was not available in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Leslie county is in the Kentucky River Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Leslie county was named for Governor Preston H. Leslie.

The Frontier Nursing Service has its headquarters in Wendover, just south of Hyden.

Most of the county is within the Daniel Boone National Forest.

Census Census Data Leslie County Seat Leslie County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Thousandsticks, Kentucky Hyden, Kentucky Confluence, Kentucky Wendover, Kentucky Cutshin, Kentucky Perry County, Kentucky Harlan County, Kentucky Bell County, Kentucky Clay County, Kentucky

© 2022 David C. Elbon