Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Logan County, Kentucky

Logan county is in the Pennyrile and Western Coal Field regions of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 395 to 868 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1792 from Lincoln county. The county seat is Russellville. Logan county was a source of Christian (1797), Warren (1797), Muhlenberg (1799), Butler (1810), Simpson (1819), and Todd (1820) counties.

In 2020 the county population was 27,432 in a land area of 552.13 square miles, an average of 49.7 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,700 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Logan county is in the Barren River Area Development District.

Logan county was named for General Benjamin Logan, who served in the American Revolution.

Census Census Data Logan County Seat Logan County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension South Union, Kentucky Schochoh, Kentucky Russellville, Kentucky Lewisburg, Kentucky Auburn, Kentucky Adairville, Kentucky Todd County, Kentucky Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Butler County, Kentucky Warren County Simpson County State of Tennessee

© 2021 David C. Elbon