Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Magoffin County, Kentucky

Magoffin county is in the Eastern Coal Field region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 785 to 1640 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1860 from Floyd, Johnson, and Morgan counties. The county seat is Salyersville.

In 2020 the county population was 11,637 in a land area of 308.44 square miles, an average of 37.7 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,100 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Magoffin county is in the Big Sandy Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Magoffin county was named for Beriah Magoffin, governor of the state at the time.

The Dawkins Line Rail Trail runs through the county.

Census Census Data Magoffin County Seat Magoffin County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Waldo, Kentucky Arthurmabel, Kentucky Fredville, Kentucky Gapville, Kentucky Dawkins Line Rail Trail Royalton, Kentucky Salyersville, Kentucky Knott County, Kentucky Floyd County, Kentucky Johnson County, Kentucky Wolfe County, Kentucky Breathitt County, Kentucky Morgan County, Kentucky

© 2022 David C. Elbon