Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Morgan County, Kentucky

Morgan county is in the Eastern Coal Field region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 690 to 1400 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1823 from Bath and Floyd counties. The county seat is West Liberty. Morgan county was a source of Rowan (1856), Magoffin (1860), Wolfe (1860), Elliott (1869), and Menifee (1869) counties.

In 2020 the county population was 13,726 in a land area of 381.13 square miles, an average of 36.0 people per square mile.

The equine population was 2,300 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Morgan county is in the Gateway Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Morgan county was named for General Daniel Morgan, who served in the American Revolution.

Census Census Data Morgan County Seat Morgan County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension West Liberty, Kentucky West Liberty, Kentucky Wrigley, Kentucky Dehart, Kentucky Ezel, Kentucky Cannel City, Kentucky Moon, Kentucky Wolfe County, Kentucky Rowan County, Kentucky Menifee County, Kentucky Magoffin County, Kentucky Johnson County, Kentucky Lawrence County, Kentucky Elliott County, Kentucky

© 2024 David C. Elbon