Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Russell County, Kentucky

Russell county is in the Pennyrile region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 530 to 1140 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1826 from Adair, Cumberland, and Wayne counties. The county seat is Jamestown.

In 2020 the county population was 17,991 in a land area of 253.66 square miles, an average of 70.9 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,400 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Russell county is in the Lake Cumberland Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Russell county was named for William Russell, who served in the American Revolution.

Census Census Data Russell County Seat Russell County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Creelsboro, Kentucky Russell Springs, Kentucky Jamestown, Kentucky Lake Cumberland State Resort Park Cumberland County, Kentucky Clinton County, Kentucky Wayne County, Kentucky Pulaski County, Kentucky Casey County, Kentucky Adair County, Kentucky

© 2023 David C. Elbon