Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Bourbon County, Kentucky

Bourbon county is in the Inner Bluegrass region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 715 to 1050 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1786 from Fayette county. The county seat is Paris. Bourbon county was a source of Mason (1789), Clark (1793), Harrison (1794), and Nicholas (1800) counties.

In 2020 the county population was 20,252 in a land area of 289.72 square miles, an average of 69.9 people per square mile.

The equine population was 13,000 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Bourbon county is in the Lexington-Fayette metro statistical area and the Bluegrass Area Development District.

Bourbon county was formed while the territory was part of Virginia and was named to honor the French royal family.

Census Census Data Bourbon County Seat Bourbon County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Elizabeth Station, Kentucky Austerlitz, Kentuck Escondida, Kentucky Plum, Kentucky Jackstown, Kentucky Paris, Kentucky Blacks Crossroads, Kentucky Ruddells Mills, Kentucky Millersburg, Kentucky Little Rock, Kentucky North Middletown, Kentucky Clintonville, Kentucky Centerville, Kentucky Cane Ridge, Kentucky Fayette County, Kentucky Scott County, Kentucky Harrison County, Kentucky Nicholas County, Kentucky Bath County, Kentucky Montgomery County, Kentucky Clark County, Kentucky

© 2022 David C. Elbon