Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Campbell County, Kentucky

Campbell county is in the Outer Bluegrass region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 455 to 920 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1795 from Harrison, Mason, and Scott counties. The county seats are Alexandria and Newport. Campbell county was a source of Bracken (1797), Pendleton (1799), Boone (1799), and Kenton (1840) counties.

In 2020 the county population was 93,076 in a land area of 151.31 square miles, an average of 615.1 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,800 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Campbell county is in the Cincinnati metro statistical area and the Northern Kentucky Area Development District.

Campbell county was named for John Campbell, an early Kentucky land owner and member of the state legislature.

The initial county seat was Wilmington, now known as Burlington and in Boone county. In 1797 it was moved to Newport, then in 1823 it was moved to Visalia, now in Kenton county, back to Newport in 1824, and then in 1840 to Alexandria, although some functions remain in Newport.

Census Census Data Campbell County Seat Campbell County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Bellevue, Kentucky Melbourne, Kentucky Mentor, Kentucky California, Kentucky Dayton, Kentucky Wilder, Kentucky Crestview, Kentucky Cold Spring, Kentucky Southgate, Kentucky Alexandria, Kentucky Highland Heights, Kentucky Fort Thomas, Kentucky Newport, Kentucky Kenton County, Kentuck State of Ohio Pendleton County, Kentucky

© 2023 David C. Elbon