Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Ohio County, Kentucky

Ohio county is in the Western Coal Field region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 365 to 800 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1799 from Hardin county. The county seat is Hartford. Ohio county was a source of Grayson (1810), Butler (1810), Daviess (1815), Hancock (1829), and McLean (1854) counties.

In 2020 the county population was 23,772 in a land area of 587.27 square miles, an average of 40.5 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,000 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Ohio county is in the Green River Area Development District.

Ohio county was named for the Ohio River, which was its northern boundary until Daviess and Hancock counties were formed.

Census Census Data Ohio County Seat Ohio County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Rosine, Kentucky Dundee, Kentucky Hartford, Kentucky Beaver Dam, Kentucky Fordsville, Kentucky Centertown, Kentucky McHenry, Kentucky Rockport, Kentucky Rochester, Kentucky McLean County, Kentucky Daviess County, Kentucky Breckinridge County, Kentucky Hancock County, Kentucky Grayson County, Kentucky Muhlenberg County, Kentucky Butler County, Kentucky

© 2022 David C. Elbon