Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Powell County, Kentucky

Powell county is in the Eastern Knobs and Eastern Coal Field regions of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 580 to 1440 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1852 from Clark, Estill, and Montgomery counties. Powell county was a source of Wolfe (1860) and Menifee (1869) counties. The county seat is Stanton.

In 2020 the county population was 13,129 in a land area of 178.98 square miles, an average of 73.4 people per square mile.

The equine population was 800 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Powell county is in the Bluegrass Area Development District.

Powell county was named for Lazarus Powell, governor of Kentucky from 1851 to 1855.

Much of Powell county lies within the Daniel Boone National Forest and the Red River Gorge National Geological Area. Also in the county are Pilot Knob State Nature Preserve and Natural Bridge State Resort Park.

Census Census Data Powell County Details Kentucky Counties Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Adair County Allen County Anderson County Ballard County Barren County Bath County Bell County Boone County Bourbon County Boyd County Boyle County Bracken County Breathitt County Breckinridge County Bullitt County Butler County Caldwell County Calloway County Campbell County Carlisle County Carroll County Carter County Casey County Christian County Clark County Clay County Clinton County Crittendon County Cumberland County Edmonson County Elliott County Estill County Fayette County Fleming County Floyd County Franklin County Gallatin County Fulton County Garrard County Grant County Graves County Grayson County Green County Greenup County Hancock County Hardin County Harlan County Harrison County Hart County Henderson County Henry County Hopkins County Jackson County Jefferson County Jessamine County Johnson County Kenton County Knott County Knox County LaRue County Laurel County Lawrence County Lee County Leslie County Letcher County Lewis County Lincoln County Livingston County Logan County Lyon County McCracken County McCreary County McLean County Madison County Magoffin County Marion County Marshall County Mason County Martin County Meade County Menifee County Mercer County Metcalfe County Monroe County Montgomery County Morgan County Muhlenberg County Nelson County Nicholas County Ohio County Oldham County Owen County Owsley County Pendleton County Perry County Pike County Powell County Pulaski County Robertson County Rockcastle County Rowan County Russell County Scott County Shelby County Simpson County Spencer County Taylor County Todd County Trigg County Trimble County Union County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Webster County Whitley County Wolfe County Woodford County Daviess County Hickman County State of West Virginia State of Ohio Commonwealth of Virginia State of Tennessee State of Missouri State of Illinois State of Indiana

© 2021 David C. Elbon