Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Powell County, Kentucky

Powell county is in the Eastern Knobs and Eastern Coal Field regions of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 580 to 1440 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1852 from Clark, Estill, and Montgomery counties. The county seat is Stanton. Powell county was a source of Wolfe (1860) and Menifee (1869) counties.

In 2020 the county population was 13,129 in a land area of 178.98 square miles, an average of 73.4 people per square mile.

The equine population was 800 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Powell county is in the Bluegrass Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Powell county was named for Lazarus Powell, governor of Kentucky from 1851 to 1855.

Much of Powell county lies within the Daniel Boone National Forest and the Red River Gorge National Geological Area. Also in the county are Pilot Knob State Nature Preserve and Natural Bridge State Resort Park.

Census Census Data Powell County Seat Powell County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Red River Gorge National Geological Area Clay City, Kentucky Stanton, Kentucky Furnace, Kentucky Slade, Kentucky Natural Bridge State Resort Park Pilot Knob State Nature Preserve Montgomery County, Kentucky Menifee County, Kentucky Wolfe County, Kentucky Lee County, Kentucky Clark County, Kentucky Estill County, Kentucky

© 2024 David C. Elbon