Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer

Map of Wolfe County, Kentucky

Wolfe county is in the Eastern Coal Field region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 650 to 1460 feet above sea level.

It was formed in 1860 from Breathitt, Morgan, Owsley, and Powell counties. The county seat is Campton. Wolfe county was a source of Menifee (1869) and Lee (1870) counties.

In 2020 the county population was 6,562 in a land area of 222.17 square miles, an average of 29.5 people per square mile.

The equine population was 1,800 in the 2012 Kentucky Equine Survey.

Wolfe county is in the Kentucky River Area Development District. It is in the Appalachian region according to the Appalachian Regional Commission.

Wolfe county was named for Nathaniel Wolfe, a nineteenth century lawyer and member of the state legislature.

Census Census Data Wolfe County Seat Wolfe County Overview Google Map County Map Historical Markers National Register Cooperative Extension Helechawa, Kentucky Hazel Green, Kentucky Torrent, Kentucky Baptist, Kentucky Campton, Kentucky Red River Gorge National Geological Area Menifee County, Kentucky Powell County, Kentucky Lee County, Kentucky Breathitt County, Kentucky Magoffin County, Kentucky Morgan County, Kentucky

© 2024 David C. Elbon